Home Maps Resources Calendar About
Resources Calendar About
Point Blunt, CA  Lighthouse accessible by ferry.A hike of some distance required.Lighthouse destroyed.   

Select a photograph to view a photo gallery

Photo Gallery

Photo Gallery

Photo Gallery

See our full List of Lighthouses in California

Point Blunt Lighthouse

In 1775, Juan Manuel de Ayala became the first European navigator to sail into San Francisco Bay. He found a protected anchorage in a small cove on the northern side of the bay's largest island and promptly named the island "Isla de Nuestra Senora de Los Angeles" or in English, "Island of Our Lady of the Angels." The name stuck, though later shortened to simply Angel Island. Angel Island's cove, where passengers now disembark to visit the island, is called Ayala Cove in honor of the early explorer.

Point Blunt Light
Photograph courtesy U.S. Coast Guard
As the number of vessels entering the bay increased, a fog bell was placed at Point Knox on the southwest side of Angel Island in 1886, and a light was added to the fog station in 1900. Still, Angel Island was too big an obstacle to be marked by a single light, and in 1915 lights were placed on Point Stuart, roughly a half mile north of Point Knox and at Point Blunt, the island’s southeast extremity. The light at Point Stuart would serve to mark Raccoon Strait, which passed between the north side of the island and Tiburon, while Point Blunt’s light would guide vessels into the shipping lane that led north to the Sacramento and San Joaquin Rivers.

The wooden staircase leading down the rocky slope to the keepers’ dwelling at Point Knox had become unstable in the 1950s, and the decision was made to build a modern Coast Guard station at Point Blunt. Point Blunt would thus become home to the last manned lighthouse built in California, and interestingly it was located less than two miles from Alcatraz Island, where California’s first lighthouse once stood. A new flat-roofed structure, topped with a lens lantern and fog horn was built near the end of the point, with a similarly constructed watch building nearby. Four, three-bedroom, ranch-style quarters for the keepers and their families were placed farther up the point, and a concrete structure still higher on the point served as a paint locker. The station was completed in 1961, and the keepers at Point Knox moved into their new housing. The vacated dwelling and signal building at Point Knox were unceremoniously burned down in 1963, and the light there was discontinued.

As plans for automating the Point Blunt Station progressed, the Point Blunt Lighthouse was torn down, and the watch room building was outfitted with an automatic light and fog signal. Local mariners were notified by the Coast Guard that on June 28, 1976, the light would be automated and resident personnel would no longer be in attendance.

  • Head Keepers: David L. Nimmo ( – 1957), Arthur M. Sheffield (1960 – 1961), Ronald R. McCormick (1961), Jacob A. Hughes (1961 – 1962), Trueman E. Cook (1962 – 1967), William E. Lester (1967 – 1969), John A. Truax (1970 – at least 1971), Jim Demerin (at least 1975 – 1976).
  • USCG: Robert G. Plevin (1959 – 1961), Harrol D. Hanna (1960 – 1961), Lester C. Snapp (1960 – 1961), Charles V. King (1961), Donald E. Perry (1961), Theodore Brunson (1961), Jean M. Noe (1961 – 1962), Arthur Haak (1961 – 1962), Dennis D. Anderson (1961 – 1963), Royal J. Parkinson (1962), Gary L. Dahlberg (1962 – 1963), Michael Tompkins (1962 – 1963), Russell B. Dixon (1963 – 1964), Charles R. Smith (1963 – 1965), Daniel J. Russell (1963 – 1965), Theodore J. Ursino (1964 – 1965), Eldon R. Brackett (1965 – at least 1966), Tony L. Hill (1965 – 1966), John H. Svendsen (1965 – 1966), Charles A. Jennings, Jr. (1965 – 1968), Steven A. Barnes ( – 1967), Arthur A. Avery ( – 1967), Stephen B. Harrington ( – 1967), Ronald Brian (1967 – 1968), Merle E. Buckley (1967 – 1968), William H. Cavagnaro (1968), John R. Jones (1968 – 1969), Virgil A. Stremler (1968 – 1970), D.R. Clark (1968 – 1970), John E. Santos (1969), G.G. Katin (1969), C.E. Miller (1969), Larry A. Becka (1969 – 1970), D.L. Layton (1970 – ), M.V. O'Keefe (1970 – ).


  1. Guardians of the Golden Gate, Ralph Shanks, 1990.

Copyright © 2001- Lighthousefriends.com
Pictures on this page copyright Kraig Anderson, used by permission.
email Kraig